Search

Are the Hard Facts of Existence Enough Knowledge?


Whether of not there was a God and if there was what was his true nature it was clear that what I knew of Reality had not come from sitting at home and meditation. It required studies with a scientific bent of mind as I had spent my youth conducting and which had led to the following Curriculum Vitae:


Annex. Curriculum vitae

NAME: Shantanu Panigrahi

ADDRESS 3 Hoath Lane, Wigmore, Near Gillingham, Kent ME8 0SL, United Kingdom. Tel (01634) 379604. SPECIALISM: Animal Nutrition for Sustainable Livestock Development Formerly Principal Scientist-3, Natural Resources . Management Department, Natural Resources Institute (NRI), The University of Greenwich, Chatham Maritime, Kent ME4 4TB, United Kingdom.

NATIONALITY: British

DATE OF BIRTH: 8 August 1957

MARITAL STATUS: Wife, and a daughter (date of birth: 19-9-1990)


KEY EXPERTISE AND EXPERIENCE

Development

Livestock production with particular reference to sustainable farming systems in tropical developing countries: specialism in livestock nutrition (ruminant and non-ruminant), livestock economics and environmental assessment. Development of integrated concepts for agricultural development in different agro- climatic zones: eg oilseed-livestock, root crops-livestock, agroforestry-livestock and small grains-livestock. Project planning, monitoring and evaluation in relation to adaptive animal feed technology transfer. Collaborating with non-governmental organisations to encourage the uptake of research-generated technologies. Advising organisations and personnel in developing countries on nutritional, toxicological and husbandry aspects of livestock production. Analysing policy issues relating to economic, environmental and socio-cultural aspects of livestock production (one major study of urban livestock production in Eastern India). Research Extensive research on - Nutritional value of human foods. - Medicinal value of tropical plant products. - Nutritional and anti-nutritional principles in agricultural commodities for livestock. - Plane of nutrition appropriate for small-scale livestock production systems in the rural areas of developing countries. - Toxicological effects of environmental contaminants (including fungal, gaseous) and food and feed adulterants. - Diet modifications for reducing methane generation by dairy cows to reduce global warming. Teaching and training Training personnel from developing countries on animal nutrition, and bioassays for detecting environmental toxins. Teaching undergraduates.


QUALIFICATIONS (including membership of professional bodies)

BSc in Pharmacology, Chelsea College, University of London, 1978.

PhD (Thesis on an aspect of Tropical Poultry Nutrition), University of Reading, 1988.

Post-Graduate Diploma (Distinction) in Agricultural Development, University of London, 1994.

Certificate, in Livestock Development (Distinction), Wye College, University of London, 1995. Certificate, in Environmental Science (Distinction), Wye College, University of London, 1996. MSc in Agricultural Development Certificate decision awaited.


Formerly Assistant Editor and Member of the Council of Management of British Poultry Science Journal.


Formerly Member of World's Poultry Science Association and Member of Rural African Network for Poultry.



AWARDS

1974 - Prize for the best A-Level Field Course Notebook at Kingston College of Further Education (Study of Sea-shore and Freshwater Ecology at Bangor, Wales).


1977 - Full College Colours for Services to the Badminton Club of Chelsea College, University of London.



LANGUAGES Speaking Reading Writing

English Fluent Fluent Fluent

Hindi Fluent Fluent Fluent

Urdu Basic - -

Bengali Fluent Basic -

Oriya Fluent Basic Basic



OVERSEAS EXPERIENCE


India. August 1997; Studying livestock-related activities in and around Calcutta for an MSc dissertation on 'urbanisation and its impact on livestock development in eastern India' -to be submitted to Wye College, University of London.


India. August 1997; Participating as an invited speaker in a Poultry Feed Management (Nutrition) Workshop organised by the Americal Soybean Association (Asia Subcontinent; New Delhi Office - email: asaasc@del2.vsnl.net.in) & Eastern Hatcheries Pvt. Ltd. (Bhubaneswar; Tel. 0674 40304) at Hotel Prachi Bhubaneswar, Orissa, on August 12 1997.


Cameroon - March 1997; implementing a project extension to the ODA-funded Project R5179.


Zimbabwe - November-December, 1996. Attending a seminar on Small-Scale Decentralised Agro-Industry held in Harare. Presented a paper on the ‘rationale for development of sunflower seed oilcake as an animal feed’. Monitoring progress in Projects C0633 and O0053.


Cameroon - June 1996; project monitoring visit to evaluate project progress in the ODA-funded Project R5179.


Zimbabwe - January, 1996. Part of a three-member visit team developing a collaborative research project with Appropriate Technology International, and local institutions and NGOs on the use of sunflowerseed cake produced from a rampress for dairy and poultry production (ODA Project Code O0053).


Zimbabwe - February 1996; arranging collaborative poultry feeding trials at Henderson Research Station, Mazowe, Zimbabwe, to test poultry rations designed for transfer to small-scale poultry producers in Zimbabwe in relation to Project C0633.


Cameroon - January-February 1995; conducting ODA-funded adaptive field research (Project Code R5179) to promote the utilisation of sweet potato and cassava root meal in poultry feeds through on-station and on-farm feed development and poultry feeding trials in the North-West Province highlands.


Zimbabwe - March 1995; examining Tinytech oil milling operations and sampling sunflower seed oilcakes for nutritional analysis at NRI in relation to Project C0633.

Zimbabwe - May 1994; reviewing developments in the oilseed sector, and developing a project proposal with the non-governmental organisation, the Intermediate Technology Development Group on the use of oilcakes generated by motorised small-scale oil mills for livestock production (Project Code C0633).


Kenya - March 1994; examining root crop development strategies in East Africa; visits to the International Potato Centre, University of Nairobi, Kenya Agricultural Research Institute, International Livestock Centre for Africa, and Agricultural Research Foundation.


Nigeria - February 1994; organising research project at NRI for a senior member of staff at the University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (under a Senior Carnegie Research Fellowship); organising a nine-month (June 1995-February 1996) World Bank-funded Research/Training Fellowship for another of this university’s lecturer at NRI.


Cameroon - February 1994; prefeasibility study of farming systems in the western highlands of Cameroon in relation to the identification of a field site to conduct poultry feed development based on root crops.


India - November 1993; presenting a paper on 'cassava utilisation in poultry diets', at the International Symposium on Tropical Tuber Crops Research, at Central Tuber Crops Research Institute, Thiruvananthapurum. Also delivering a lecture on 'urbanisation and livestock development', at Utkal University, Bhubaneswar.


The Netherlands - September 1992; presenting a paper on 'copra cake and broiler behaviour', at the XIX World Poultry Congress, Amsterdam.


India - December 1991; Eastern India, studying peri-urban dairy production systems, storage and use of fibrous ruminant feeds, and monitoring the presence of aflatoxin M1 in milk from different production systems.

Belgium - April 1989; Brussels, negotiating a Commission of European Communities-funded contract.


India - March 1987; Madras Veterinary College, identifying areas of common interest for collaborative research. Orissa, studying rice cultivation and livestock production.

India - March 1985; Commercial firms in Calcutta. Examining seeds of Cassia tora and Tamarindus indica for research.

EMPLOYMENT RECORD

(1) August 2006 to present; Cashier at Shell Wigmore Service Station, 26 Hoath Lane, Wigmore Gillingham Kent ME8 0SW. Tel: 01634 269880.

(2) July 2004 to July 2006; Forecourt attendant at Total Britannia Service Station at 217 High Street, Rainham, Gillingham Kent ME8 8AY. Tel: 01634 269892.

(3) December 2004 to 28 February 2005; Cover Supervisor, The Robert Napier School, Third Avenue, Gillingham, Kent ME7 2LX. Tel: (01634) 851157.

(4). July 2004-December 2004; General purpose worker for the Employment Agency Connexions Recruitment Ltd, 27 Skinner Street, Gillingham, Kent ME7 1HD. Tel: (01634) 280050.

(5) 1996-1998: Principal Scientist-3, Natural Resources Management Department, Natural Resources Institute, The University of Greenwich, Chatham Maritime, Kent ME4 4TB, United Kingdom. Tel: (01634) 880088.

(6) 1991-1996: Senior Scientific Officer (Animal Nutritionist), Livestock Department, Natural Resources Institute, Chatham Maritime, Kent ME4 4TB, United Kingdom. Tel: (01634) 880088.

1983-91

Higher Scientific Officer (Poultry Nutritionist), Animal Feeds Section. Responsible for Project development and the Operation of the Livestock Experimental Station at NRI Culham, Oxfordshire.

1979-83

Scientific Officer (Pharmacologist), Toxic and Economic Constituents Section (NRI London). Responsible for Project development and the Management of the Nutritional sub-Section.


PUBLICATIONS (43)


Scientific Journal Papers: (39)


Panigrahi, S., (199?) Parallels in dairy and poultry development strategies and issues relating to urbanisation in the Eastern India region. (in preparation).

Panigrahi, S., Wareing, P.W., Phillips, S. and Ncube, S. (1997) Nutritional and mycological changes in maize and sorghum stover during dry season storage in Zimbabwe. (in preparation).


Panigrahi, S. (1997) Rationale for the development of sunflowerseed oilcake as a poultry feed in southern Africa, with particular reference to Zimbabwe. Proceedings of a Seminar held in Zimbabwe on ‘Small-scale decentralised agro-industries in Zimbabwe and the region’. Intermediate Technology Development Group, PO Box 1744, Harare, Zimbabwe (in print).


Panigrahi, S. (1997) Integrated small-scale oil milling and livestock production in Zimbabwe. Agricultural and Rural Development. Volume 5 (2) (August 1998): 39-42.


Panigrahi, S. and B.S. Waite (1998) Responses of broiler chicks to dietary cottonseed meal treated with ferrous sulphate. Proceedings of the 10th Eurpoean Poultry Conference, Jerusalem, Israel 21-26 June 1998: 444-447.


Panigrahi, S. and B.S. Waite (1998) The use of rations with up to forty per cent palm kernel meal for egg production. Proceedings of the Spring Meeting of the World Poultry Science Association, United Kingdom Branch, Spa Complex, Scarborough,UK, 25-26 March 1998: 68-69.

Panigrahi, S. and Dallin, S. (1997) The mung seed germination bioassay of tenuazonic acid, an Alternaria toxin. Tropical Science, 37: 9-12.

Phillips, S.I., Wareing, P.W., Dutta, A., Panigrahi, S. and Medlock V. (1996). The mycoflora and incidence of aflatoxin and zearalenone in dairy feed and forage samples from Eastern India and Bangladesh. Mycopathologia,133: 15-21. Panigrahi, S., Bestwick, L.A., Davis, R. and Wood, C.D. (1996). The nutritive value of stackburned yellow maize for livestock: tests in vitro and in broiler chicks. British Journal of Nutrition, 76: 97-108. Panigrahi, S. and Plumb, V.E. (1996) Effects of ferrous sulphate treatment of cottonseed meal for preventing brown yolk discolouration on dietary phosphorus. British Poultry Science, 37: 403-411.

Panigrahi, S., Oguntona, E.B. and Roberts, B.R. (1996) Effects of different drying temperatures on the nutritive value of sweet potato for broiler chicks. British Poultry Science, 37: 173-188. Panigrahi, S. (1995) The potential for small-scale oilseed expelling in conjunction with poultry production in developing countries. World's Poultry Science Journal, 51: 167-176. Panigrahi, S., Jones, B.D. and Dallin, S. (1994) Effects of dietary tenuazonic acid, isolated from a culture of Alternaria alternata, on broiler chicks. Proceedings of the 9th Eurpoean Poultry Conference, 7 to 12 August 1994, Glasgow, UK; Volume I,: 179-180. Walker and Connel, Ltd. Swetman, T. and Panigrahi, S. (1994) The potential for using ram-pressed sunflowerseed cake as a livestock feed component in rural areas of Zimbabwe and Tanzania. Proceedings of The Agrotech Regional Workshop on Small-Scale Oil Processing; 5-9 September, 1994. Arusha International Conference Centre, Arusha, Tanzania; Published by Agrotech, Harare, Zimbabwe. Panigrahi, S. and Dallin, S. (1994) Toxicity of some Alternaria spp metabolites to brine shrimp Artemia salina L. larvae. Journal of the Science of Food and Agriculture, 66: 493-496. Panigrahi, S. (1993) Bioassay of mycotoxins using terrestrial and aquatic animal and plant species. Food and Chemical Toxicology, 31: 767-790. Panigrahi, S., Rickard, J., O'Brien, G.M. and Gay, C. (1992) Effects of different rates of drying cassava root on its toxicity to broiler chicks. British Poultry Science, 33: 1025-1042. Panigrahi, S., Phillips, S., Plumb, V.E. and Watson, A.J. (1992) Evaluation of the nutritive value of yellow rice in rats and broiler chicks. British Journal of Nutrition, 68: 573-582.

Panigrahi, S. (1992) Energy deficit-induced behaviour changes in broiler chicks fed copra meal-based diets. Proceedings of the XIX World's Poultry Science Congress, 20-24 September, 1992, Amsterdam, The Netherlands; Volume 3, pp 503-507. Panigrahi, S. (1992) Effects of different copra meals and amino acid supplementation on broiler chick growth. British Poultry Science, 33: 683-687. Panigrahi, S. (1992) Effects of treating cottonseed meal with a solution of ferrous sulphate for the prevention of brown yolk discolouration. Animal Feed Science and Technology, 38: 89-103.

Panigrahi, S. (1991) Behaviour changes in broiler chicks fed on diets containing palm kernel meal. Applied Animal Behaviour Science, 31: 277-281. Panigrahi, S. and Powell, C.J. (1991) Effects of high rates of inclusion of palm kernel meal in broiler chick diets. Animal Feed Science and Technology, 34: 37-47. Dietz, H.M., Panigrahi, S. and Harris, R.V. (1991) Toxicity of hydrolysis products from 3-butenyl glucosinolate in rats. Journal of Agriculture and Food Chemistry, 39: 311-315.

Panigrahi, S. (1991) Metabolizable energy (ME) value of high residual lipid copra meal in formulating broiler chick diets. Tropical Science, 31: 141-145. Panigrahi, S. and Morris, T.R. (1991) Effects of dietary cottonseed meal and iron-treated cottonseed meal in different hen genotypes. British Poultry Science, 31: 167-181. Panigrahi, S. (1990) Ammonia and dietary cottonseed meal-associated brown yolk discolouration in hens' eggs. Tropical Science, 30: 325-342.


Machin, D.H., Panigrahi, S., Bainton, J. and Morris T.R. (1990) Performance of broiler chicks fed on low and high oil fish silages in relation to the changes taking place in lipid and protein components. Animal Feed Science and Technology, 28: 199-223. Panigrahi, S. and Hammonds, T.W. (1990) Egg discolouration effects of including screw-pressed cottonseed meal in laying hen diets and their prevention. British Poultry Science, 31: 107-120. Panigrahi, S., Plumb, V.E. and Machin, D.H. (1989) Effects of dietary cottonseed meal, with and without iron treatment, in laying hens. British Poultry Science, 30: 641-651. Panigrahi, S. (1989) Effects on egg production of including high residual lipid copra meal in laying hen diets. British Poultry Science, 30: 305-312. Panigrahi, S., Bland, B. and Carlaw, P.M. (1989) The nutritive value of tamarind seeds for broiler chicks. Animal Feed Science and Technology, 22: 285-293.

Panigrahi, S. (1989) Effects of atmospheric ammonia on chick embryo development. British Poultry Science, 30: 197-200.


Panigrahi, S. (1988) Effects of atmospheric ammonia on egg pH, gossypol-related brown yolk discolouration and chick embryo development. Paper presented at the 1988, Spring meeting of the World's Poultry Science Association - UK Branch, School of Pharmacy,University of London, London. Abstract in British Poultry Science, 29: 878-879. Panigrahi, S., Machin, D.H., Parr, W.H. and Bainton, J. (1987) Responses of broiler chicks to dietary copra cake of high lipid content. British Poultry Science, 28: 589-600.

Panigrahi, S., El Samra, S.E., Bhosale, S.D., Parr, W.H. and Coker, R.D. (1986) Dietary vitamin and aflatoxin interactions in chicks and ducklings. In: Proceedings of 7th European Poultry Conference, Paris, 1986. Volume 1. General, Genetics, Nutrition, posters. pp 267-271. Ed. Larbier, M., 37002 Tours, France; World's Poultry Science Association.

Panigrahi, S., Francis, B.J., Cano, L.A. and Burbage, M.B. (1984) Toxicity of Jatropha curcas seeds from Mexico to rats and mice. Nutrition Reports International, 29: 1089-1099. Panigrahi, S. and Francis, B.J. (1982) Digestibility and possible toxicity of the yam, Dioscorea alata. Nutrition Reports International, 26: 1007-1013.

Books/Thesis/Book articles: (3) Panigrahi, S. (1997) Alternaria toxins. In: Handbook of Plant and Fungal Toxicants. Handbook of Pharmacology and Toxicology - A CRC Press Series. pp 319-337. Editor: J.P.F. D'Mello. ISBN 0-8493-5551-2. CRC Press, Inc., Boca Raton, Florida, USA. Panigrahi, S. (1996) A review of the potential for using cassava root meal in poultry diets. In: Tropical Tuber Crops: Problems, Prospects and Future Strategies. pp 416-428. Eds.: Kurup, G.T., Palaniswami, M.S. Potty, V.P., Padmaja, G., Kabeerathumma, S. and Pillai, S.V. Proceedings of an International Symposium on Tropical Tuber Crops, 6-9 November 1993. Indian Society for Root Crops, Central Tuber Crops Research Institute, Sreekariyam, Thiruvananthapurum, India. Oxford and IBH Publishing Co. Pvt. Ltd, New Delhi, Calcutta.


Panigrahi, S. (1988) The use of cottonseed meal in laying hen diets. PhD Thesis, University of Reading, United Kingdom.


Coker, R.D., Jones, B.D., Nagler, M.J., Gilman, G.A., Wallbridge, A.J. and Panigrahi, S. (1984) Bioassay of Mycotoxins. In: Section A16. The Mycotoxins Training Manual. G report. Tropical Development and Research Institute.

Unpublished work

Unpublished data from animal nutrition research available to write a further 30 or more scientific papers


These were hard facts of scientific discovery and western education taught us that this was the only path to the truth. I had to conduct a review of what I knew for it was clear that God was not going to reveal this to my mind even if it was possible for Him to do so from the purely biological mechanism by which our mind works. He was nowhere near me at this stage in 2008. I had been referred back to the Hospital for a relapse of my condition by treating God as the be-all and end-all of my life.


In the hospital incarceration of 2009 autumn, again the psychiatrists could not find anything wrong with me and I was allowed back home with home visits by the nursing staff, and that too ceased after a few months. It knocked my faith in God senseless and all my clock checking to try and get Him to talk to me proved fruitless.


I needed knowedge, if God was not going to provide this to me, I would just have to do it the hard way. I had plenty of books at home and these were all of no further use. It was then that I came across the website Freethought and Rationalism Discussion Board, and I immediately decided that the only other way I could enhance my knowledge from the base that my primary education had provided to also examine issues of human evolution and religion was to correspond with people and engage in truth-seeking discussions where all my hitherto acquired knowledge would be put to the scrutiny of those who claim to know more than me.


I spent the next three years of my life in interacting with people at Freethought and Rationalism Discussion board with a view to constructing blogs within it where I would store my condensed knowledge. I posted over 10,000 posts in this board questioning people on all aspects of reality with the sole objective of increasing my understanding. In the end I upset too many posters and according to the officials disrupted their board when it was becoming clear to me that science was not providing all the answers. I got banned from this website where I became an atheist at one point but then changed to being an atheotheist, namely someone who had seen no evidence of God but had not ruled out that science may yet provide him with that evidence. As I left this board, I saw glimpses that God may yet be there for me in 2012. It was at this point that I came across the Wordpress Blogging facility in the internet and immediately decided that I needed my findings to be contained in such a mode over the internet so that people from around the world can relate to it and pass comments which I would take aboard and develop my knowledge further. My website was at: https://shantanup.wordpress.com/. I started writing my work here.


I realized that I still needed more direct involvements with people so joined Secular Café discussion board immediately but my understanding had already reached a state from the three and half years at Freethought and Rationalism Discussion Board that I quickly faced strong opposition to what I was stating. With a few months I got banned again. I went to Rational Skepticism and the same fate awaited me. I was using my time at these websites to construct my Blog from discussions that had taken place because the process of interaction was releasing deeper thoughts in my mind in having to respond to the questions that were being raised so that knowledge was getting enhanced in the process. I then used the Twittersphere to great effect in interacting with people and all the time creating my Blog. I discussed ideas on religion specifically Hinduism at Religions Forums and Speakingtree as I developed my blog.


These interactions and blogging were done as I maintained a diary again from 20 July 2012, Truth and God Search: Any relationship? Where did the hard facts take one? It was then that God came to me again to show that my clock checking for messages were being rewarded by revelations from Him in which science and religion were being married in one’s search of truth and understanding.


These studies were not enough: God had engineered real life events in my life in what I named as Greenwich Legalities, Internet Complaint, UKIP Proceedings and Shell Tribunal. I know this as a matter of fact because I was following instructions from him from my clock-checking habit of seeing messages. I was consultating God on what I wrote in Religions Forums and on Twitter in addition to actually physically writing what I did in emails to state institutions as I fought my way through the British Justice System. I was using the process to determine the relationship between God and humans as aI blogged these findings in my website. I did not know whether God had done all this to teach the British a lesson on justice or whether it was solely to show me His true self in terms of what He was capable of and what He liked. In this mode my websites Satyaadvaita (The Quest for Truth Accommdation), How modern Humans Came About, Abiogenesis Review, that are assocated with the Primary website Shantanu Panigrahi’s Blog: Knowledge for World Conservation were created. I had previously endeavored to set up websites with Easily (Knoweldge for World Conservation) and UnionofPetrolStationWorkersFoundation for World Development (2009) which ended nowhere but now I had fantastic facilities of Wordpress to do what I had always wanted to do: to contribute to knowledge.


These discoveries only worked because I was a satyadvatitist, a truth accommodationist so I begin describing my experiences with what I have blogged citing the dates that I blogged them as my knowedge developed.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Information Received - Review Letter - OTP-CR-76/22 Inbox from: OTP InformationDesk <OTP.InformationDesk@icc-cpi.int> to: "shanpanigrahi3000@gmail.com" <shanpanigrahi3000@gmail.com> date:

Your Reference: 22/444/CM/PCC Yahoo / Sent Shantanu Panigrahi <shantanupanigrahi@yahoo.com> To: civil.claims@kent.pnn.police.uk Tue, 10 May at 20:22 To Civil Claim Officers Thank you for this morning'